Professor Kumiko Miyazaki received the JSSPRM Award

Prof. Kumiko Miyazaki from the Graduate School of Innovation Management received the Academic Society Award of JSSPRM (Japan Society for Science Policy and Research Management) on Oct. 9, 2010.

JSSPRM is an academic society established in 1985 to conduct and promote research of research planning, science and technology policy and Management of Technology(MOT) in firms. JSSPRM has approximately 1100 members from academic institutions, government organizations and firms.

This Academic Society Award is given to an individual in recognition for outstanding achievement in the field of empirical, interdisciplinary research in MOT or science and technology policy, or in recognition of one’s achievement as a practitioner in government organizations or firms.

Prof. Miyazaki is the second academic in Japan to receive this Award.  She has received it in recognition of her highly regarded role in the advancement of empirical research on strategic MOT.

The Following are Prof. Miyazaki’s Comments upon receipt of this Award

“It is a great honour to receive this prestigious award from JSSPRM. The field of MOT is relatively new in Japan, but I have been doing research on MOT for 20 years. I am very grateful to the late Professors Pavitt, Rothwell and Freeman from SPRU (University of Sussex, UK) where I obtained my PhD. Based on the initial research related to technological competence building, I have expanded the research scope to analyze innovation systems in various sectors and continued to explore their internal dynamics to this present day. While I have been supervising talented graduate students at Tokyo Tech, I have been able to make progress with my research, with the warm support of my colleagues and administrative staff.  With this award as encouragement, I would like to renew my efforts to research and teach and I truly appreciate all your support.”

lab trip photo
Prof. Miyazaki was receiving the JSSPRM Award.

(This news has been reported on the website of Tokyo Institute of Technology.)

Go Top

Back to News List

News and Events